The house and farm building site are located on 223 acres of land in Shenandoah County. The farm has a very diverse topography, including crop and hay land, pasture, forests and three major streams. The house and barn on the property are architecturally unique. The nine-room two and one-half story house (c. 1790, 1840 & 1858) is a combination of Greek revival and Italianate designs with early and late Victorian period overtones. The barn (c. 1880) is a Swiss-German style bank barn with five bents, two thrashing floors, a hay loft and a grain storage area.
Four generations of Funkhousers owned the farm for 136 years – from 1833 to 1970. The Funkhousers were among the earliest European settlers arriving in the lower Shenandoah Valley with the first, Johannes Funkhouser and his wife, Mary, arriving in about 1740. During May 1-24, 1862, Union General Nathaniel Banks used the house as his headquarters until General Stonewall Jackson’s advance forced him to retreat to Winchester and then to Williamsport.—David J. Garms